Wednesday, 29 January 2014

Masa Shivaratri dates in 2014

As per hindu calendar Chaturdasi tithi during Krishna paksha of every month is observed as Masik Shivaratri or Masa Sivaratri. Krishna paksha is the dark half of the lunar month which is waning phase of the moon. Chaturdasi is the 14th day after Purnima (Full Moon) OR one day before Amavasya (New Moon). It is considered very auspicious to observe fast and Worship lord Shiva on this day. Usually twelve Masik shivaratri days occur in a year.

Shivaratri Dates for India

Maha Sivaratri  is obeserved on Magha Masa as per Amavasyant Calendar. According to Poornimant calendar it is Phalguna Masa. Lord Shiva appeared in the form of Jyotirlinga on the midnight of Maha Shivaratri day. Shivaratri which falls in the month of Shravana is known as Shravan or Sawan Sivaratri. Here are the monthly dates of Masa Sivaratri in 2014.

  • 29th January Wednesday 
  • 27th February Thursday - Maha Shivaratri
  • 29th March Saturday
  • 27th April Sunday
  • 27th May  Tuesday
  • 25th June Wednesday
  • 25th July Friday
  • 23rd August Saturday
  • 22nd September Monday
  • 22nd October Wednesday
  • 20th November Thursday
  • 20th December Saturday

Related Posts
 

No comments:

Post a Comment