Wednesday, 5 February 2014

Amavasya 2014 Dates ~ New Moon Days

The day when Sun and Moon both remain at the same degree in a sign is called as Amavasya or New (No) Moon day. Amavasya is also known as Amavasi which is darkest day in Hindu month. It is the last day or 30th tithi in lunar cycle as Gujarat, Maharashtra and South Indian Calendars. Amavasya days are appropriate to do Sharaddha rituals as the Pitru devatas are lord of this tithi. Most Hindus observe fast and perform Shraddha and Tarpan rituals to appease their ancestors. Sarvapitru Amavasya also known as Mahalaya Amavasya is more important day than all. The most significant Diwali festival is also observed on New Moon day. When Amavasi falls on some weekdays it has special significance. The weekday and name of those Amavasi are here under.
  • Bhanu Amavasya - Sunday
  • Somavati Amavasya - Monday
  • Bhauma/Bhaumvati Amavasya - Tuesday
  • Shani Amavasya - Saturday
However, the no moon day considered inauspicious to begin new things, works, held functions like marriages in many calendars but it is considered very auspicious day to perform good events as per Tamil Calendar. As per Tamil Panchang it is known as Amavasai. Here are the No Moon Dates or Amavasya in 2014 with beginning and ending times for India .
  • 1 January 2014 Wednesday - Margashira Amavaasya 
    • 8.31pm on 31.12.2013 to 4.44pm on 1.1.2014
  • 30 January 2014 Thursday - Pushya Amavasya - Mauni/ Thai Amavasya
    • 7.01am on 30.1.2014 to 3.08am on 31.1.2014
  • 1 March 2014 Saturday - Magha Amavasya  
    • 4.50pm on 28.2.2014 to 1.29pm on 1.3.2014
  • 30 March 2014 Sunday - Phalgun Amavasya 
    • 2.31am on 30.3.2014 to 12.14am on 31.3.2014
  • 29 April 2014 Tuesday - Chaitra Amavasya 
    • 12.40pm on 28.4.2014 to 11.44am on 29.4.2014
  • 28 May 2014 Wednesday - Vaisakha Amavasya 
    • 11.46pm on 27.5.2014 to 12.10am on 29.5.2014
  • 27 June 2014 Friday - Jyaishta Amavasya 
    • 12.08pm on 26.6.2014 to 1.38pm on 27.6.2014
  • 26 July 2014 Saturday - Ashadha Amavasya 
    • 1.57am on 26.7.2014 to 4.12am on 27.7.2014
  • 25 August 2014 Monday - Sravana Amavasya 
    • 5.16pm on 24.8.2014 to 7.43pm on 25.8.2014
  • 24 September 2014 Wednesday - Bhadrapada Amavasya - Mahalaya Amavasya 
    • 9.45am on 23.9.2014 to 11.44am on 24.9.2014
  • 23 October 2014 Thursday - Ashwija Amavasya - Diwali/Deepavali 
    • 2.35am on 23.10.2014 to 3.26am on 24.10.2014
  • 22 November 2014 Saturday - Kartika Amavasya 
    • 6.42pm on 21.11.2014 to 6.02pm on 22.11.2014
  • 22 December 2014 Monday - Margashira Amavasya 
    • 9.16am on 21.12.2014 to 7.06am on 22.12.2014
Related Posts

No comments:

Post a Comment